Competency Areas of the Canadian Standards of Practice

BEFA candidates are required to assess their competence against the Canadian Standards of Practice in the following 12 competency areas:

  1. Programming
  2. Site and environmental analysis
  3. Schematic design
  4. Engineering systems – structural, mechanical, electrical, civil
  5. Building cost analysis
  6. Code research
  7. Design development
  8. Construction documents
  9. Bidding and contract negotiation
  10. Construction phase – office and site
  11. Management of the project
  12. Professionalism and professional practice

The 12 competency areas are defined in the document below.